Happy Birthday, Self.

I wonder how many times
Have I looked in the mirror
And not recognize myself

I wonder how many times
I have stumbled, bled, and cried
In my attempts in this world

I wonder how any times
I have wished for the wrong things
And wept for useless reasons

I wonder how many times
Have I been truly happy
That it sparkled through my eyes

I wonder how many times
Did i not write my thoughts down
Struggling to find the right words

I wonder how many times
Have I been a reckless child
Stuck inside the teenage world

I wonder how far this list
Can go if I let myself
Write for an eternity

I wonder, just winder. for how long will I ever wonder about the journey on how I got to where I am NOW. Will I ever get rid of my paranoia? Will I ever truly grow up and learn to embrace the future fearlessly?

But maybe, just maybe. It’s time for you, self, to stop counting the statistics but rather start counting the memories. Maybe only then will you truly live. Make your 19th worth it. HBD.
XoXo 18-year old self
Featured image

Leave a Reply

